Illinois Licensure for Educators

A primary service of the Regional Office of Education is to assist applicants with educator licensure. We stay current with changing regulations, laws, and policies in educator licensure and act as a liaison between the Regional Office of Education and the State Educator Licensure Board for applicants, school districts, and other interested parties.  Effective July 1, 2013, all registration fees will be paid online through the ELIS system.

If you need to create an ELIS account, please click HERE.

FY 2021 Professional Development Cycle (licenses renewing in FY 2021) and every cycle thereafter, all educators are required to  complete 120 professional development hours, regardless of the number of or types of degrees held. The only  exception is those educators who are National Board  Certified, who will only owe 60 hours. Please share this information with administrators and educators, as  educators who are up for renewal July 1, 2020, will need  to have completed 120 hours of PD (or 60 if National Board Certified).

Renewal & Professional Development for Educators

If you hold one of the following licenses, you must renew it every five years. All endorsements are renewed with the license.

Beginning with the 2015 – 2020 renewal cycle, and every cycle thereafter, teachers and school support services personnel must complete 120 hours of professional development to renew regardless of the number or types of degrees held.

License Type

Required PD HoursRegistration Fees
(Five Year Cycle)

Professional Educator License (PEL) (Teacher or School Support Personnel)

120 hours$50.00/5-year cycle
Professional Educator License (PEL) (Administration)

100 hours AND 1 Administrator Academy (AA) per fiscal year

(If employed as Administrator for 50% or more FTE).

$50.00/5-year cycle

Educator License w/Stipulations
(Chief School Business Official)

100 hours AND 1 Administrator Academy (AA) per fiscal year

(If employed as Administrator for 50% or more FTE).

$50.00/5-year cycle

Educator License w/Stipulations
(CTE)
120 hours

$50.00/5-year cycle

Educator License w/Stipulations
(Provisional CTE)
No required professional development

$50.00/5-year cycle

Educator License w/Stipulations
(Part-Time CTE)
No required professional development

$50.00/5-year cycle

Substitute Teaching License

No required professional development$50.00/5-year cycle
Paraprofessional LicenseNo required professional development

$30.00/5-year cycle

Short-Term Substitute LicenseNo required professional development

No Fees/expires 2023

For all login and password recovery assistance, please call one of our ROE offices or the “Help Desk” at the Illinois State Board of Education at 217.557.6763.

Please Note: When a transcript is required, it must be an official transcript. To be considered official, it must arrive at the Regional Office of Education in sealed envelope, just as you received it from your college or university. Universities may send transcripts directly to our office via mail or electronic transcript.

“How to Create an ELIS Account from ISBE Video on Vimeo. Account Sign Up

How to Create an ELIS Account from ISBE Video on Vimeo.

Account Sign Up

Once a license has been issued, it must be registered. Teachers must register their teaching licenses in the county in which they teach. Teachers are highly encouraged to monitor their license on ELIS.

How to register your license from ISBE Video on Vimeo.

Account Sign Up

You must apply for endorsement online through your ELIS account. The application fee is $50.00 per content area. Please ensure that your most recent transcripts have been uploaded into your ELIS account. An endorsement application The Illinois State Board of Education has set the following licensure, endorsement, and approval requirements.

Apply for an Endorsement

How to reinstate a lapsed license from ISBE Video on Vimeo. Please note that you MUST reinstate a lapsed license in order to teach or substitute teach in a school district.

Account Sign Up

If you would like to substitute teach in ROE #21 you must hold a valid Professional Educator
License (PEL), Substitute Teacher License (SUB), Short Term Substitute License (STS), or
Paraprofessional (PARA) License.

  • If you hold a Teaching License (PEL) you DO NOT need a Substitute Teaching License, a
    Short-Term Substitute Teaching License or a Paraprofessional License.
  • A Substitute License (SUB) is valid for 5 years and is renewable. Note: You must have a
    bachelor’s degree from an accredited 4-year institution
  • A Short-Term Substitute (STS) License is valid until 2023, regardless of when it is issued.
    You may not substitute more than 5 consecutive days for one teacher with this license.  You
    must complete a STS training course prior to issuance of this license.

If you would like to be placed on the Substitute Listing as a: Substitute, Paraprofessional, Teacher’s Aide:

  • You must hold a license and the license must be registered in ROE #21.
  • You must complete the appropriate paperwork which includes:
    • Current and up to date license registered in ROE 21
    • Health Exam within 1 year
    • TB test within 90 days
    • Mandated Reporter Form signed – download here
    • Substitute Teacher Application.
  • Once the appropriate paperwork is completed, you may call one of our offices to
    schedule an appointment for the fingerprint background check.

Short-Term Substitute Teacher:

  • The individual must hold the STS license and the license must be registered in ROE #21.
  • The individual must complete the STS Training and appropriate paperwork
  • Once STS Training has been completed, evidence of completion is uploaded into ELIS.
    Individual is not placed on the Substitute Listing without completion of the STS training.
  • You must complete the appropriate paperwork which includes:
    • Current and up to date license registered in ROE 21
    • Health Exam within 1 year
    • TB test within 90 days
    • Mandated Reporter Form signed – download here
    • Substitute Teacher Application.
  • Once the appropriate paperwork is completed, you may call one of our offices to
    schedule an appointment for the fingerprint background check.

ROE #21 Substitute Listing Requirements

Listed below are the steps required in order to substitute teach in ROE #21. You must hold a valid

Step: 1 – Obtain an Illinois License

Professional Educator License (PEL)

  • You must have completed an approved program in Illinois, or you must hold a current out of state teaching license in order to apply for a PEL. To learn more, please call one of our ROE #21 offices.

Substitute Teacher (SUB) License

  • Log on to www.isbe.net and click on TEACHERS. Click on Log into ELIS, then click on Login to your ELIS account (under Educator Access), then click on Sign up Now in the left side margin and follow the prompts. Select Continue.
  • Mail your official transcripts in a sealed envelope to one of our ROE #21 offices.  Transcripts must be from an accredited university and must show that a bachelor’s degree has been awarded.
  • When logged into your account, select “Apply for Substitute Teacher license.” You will pay $50.00 plus a convenience fee.
  • Your application will be listed as “pending review” until it has been issued.
    ** A new law is in effect that allows individuals who have worked at least 10 full school days on the substitute license to receive a refund from ISBE for your substitute application fee. The law is applicable to any educator who had a SUB license issued on or after July 1, 2017.

Paraprofessional (PARA) License

  • Log on to www.isbe.net and click on TEACHERS. Click on Log into ELIS, then click on Login to your ELIS account (under Educator Access), then click on Sign up Now in the left side margin and follow the prompts. Select Continue.
  • Mail your official transcripts in a sealed envelope to one of our ROE #21 offices.  Transcripts must be from an accredited university and must list a minimum of 60 hours of college coursework.
  • When logged into your account, select “Apply for Paraprofessional license.” You will pay $100.00 plus a convenience fee.
  • Your application will be listed as “pending review” until it has been issued. ** A new law is in effect that allows individuals who have worked at least 10 full school days on the substitute license to receive a refund from ISBE for your substitute application
    fee.  The law is applicable to any educator who had a SUB license issued on or after July 1, 2017.

Step: 2 – Register your License in ROE #21

  • Once the application status changes from “pending review” to “Issued” on your ELIS Account, you may register your license in our region.
  • Please select Region 21 Franklin/Johnson/Massac/Williamson
  • Click on Registration and follow the steps. You may pay a $50.00-$60.00 registration fee depending on when you register, in addition to a convenience fee.

Step: 3 – Obtaining a Substitute Teacher Authorization from ROE#21

Persons wishing to obtain a Substitute Teacher Authorization must have the following:

  • Current and up to date license registered in ROE #21
  • Health Exam (within 1 year)
  • TB test (within 90 days)
  • Mandated Reporter Form signed – download here
  • Substitute Teacher Application completed

Step: 4 – Fingerprint/Background Check

This is the last step and should be completed after the steps above.

  • Call one of the ROE #21 offices to schedule a fingerprint/background check appointment
  • The cost is $55.00 and must be paid at the time of your appointment.  We accept cash, check, or money order.
  • Verify the location of your appointment.
  • Once the results of your fingerprint background check have been received by our office, you will be mailed you a Substitute Teacher Authorization Form and you will be placed on the next Monthly Substitute Teacher Listing for ROE #21.

* Please note: you will be issued a new Substitute Authorization Certificate each school year. The certificate may be picked up at our Williamson County office after July 1 each year. This certificate must be obtained to verify that you will be placed on the substitute listing for the following year.

  1. Create an ELIS account on the ISBE website. 
  2. Bring or mail official transcripts to one of our ROE offices (Office addresses are available at the bottom of this page). Official Transcripts must be in a sealed envelope and should state an Associate’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited institution of higher education OR indicate completion of 60 semester hours of coursework.
  3. Call one of our ROE offices to notify us that the transcripts are being sent (Office phone numbers are available at the bottom of this page).
  4. Once transcripts have been uploaded into ELIS, application must be made in ELIS for issuance of the Short-Term Substitute License.

Important Information:

  • Individuals holding the STS license must attend and maintain evidence of completing the Short-Term Substitute Training prior to substitute teaching.
  • The Short-Term Substitute License is valid for PreK-12.
  • Application fee is $25.
  • Application fee may be refunded within 18 months after teaching 10 days within one year of the license being issued.
  • There is no registration fee for this license.
  • Associate degree or 60 semester hours from a regionally-accredited college or university required.
  • Can teach no more than 5 consecutive days per licensed teacher under contract.
  • All licenses shall have an expiration date of June 30, 2023. Thus, depending on issue date, some licenses will have a cycle that is shorter than 5 years. No licenses will be issued after this date.
  • In order to be placed on the ROE #21 Substitute Listing, Short-Term Substitutes must also have a background check, health exam, and TB test in order to substitute teach.
Thank you for inquiring about Substitute Teaching in Franklin-Johnson-Massac-Williamson Counties (ROE #21). You must hold a Bachelor’s Degree with a valid and registered teaching license or Substitute license issued by the Illinois State Board of Education. If you are a First-Time Substitute Applicant, please follow the steps below to ensure that you have completed the appropriate paperwork and procedures to Substitute Teach in ROE #21. If you would like more information about a Short-Term Substitute Teaching License, please click here. If you are a applying for a Paraprofessional Endorsement, please follow the steps below to create your ELIS account and apply.
  1. Visit www.isbe.net to create an account in the Educator Licensure Information System (ELIS).
  2. On the ISBE homepage select “ELIS Educator Credentials”, located near the top middle section of the page.
  3. On the Educator Credential page, select Educator Access. On the left side of the Educator Access page, select “Sign Up Now”.
  4. You will be prompted to enter all of your information in the places provided. (Please make certain all of information that you enter is accurate and up to date)
  5. After entering your information and selecting continue at the bottom of the page, you will be directed to an information overview page. PRINT THIS PAGE FOR YOUR RECORDS.
  6. Next, you will be directed to a Congratulations page for successfully creating your ELIS Account. After selecting continue, you will be directed to your home profile page. You will also receive an email confirmation.
  7. Your home profile page will give you options. You will select option #5, “Apply for a Paraprofessional Endorsement”. Once this is selected, the system will take you through a wizard to apply. Once you apply, you will be re-directed to a secure website to enter your application fee. The fee to apply for the license is $100.00.
  8. Once you have submitted your payment, you will be returned to your ELIS homepage. Your Paraprofessional Endorsement will be listed as PENDING REVIEW. You will need to log back into your ELIS account to check the status of your License. This process could take up to a few weeks. The status will change from PENDING REVIEW to ISSUED. Once ISBE receives and processes your paperwork, this status will be change to ISSUED. You will not receive anything in the mail.
  9. Once the status displays ISSUED, you MUST register your license. When logged into your ELIS account, you will see a link for registration in the Action Center. Once this has been selected, the system will take you through a wizard to register. ROE #21 is located in Franklin-Johnson-Massac-Williamson Counties.
An individual who wishes to serve as a paraprofessional in an Illinois public school must hold one of the following:
  • A valid Illinois Professional Educator License
  • A valid Substitute License
  • A valid Educator License with Stipulations – Paraprofessional Endorsement To qualify for the Educator License with Stipulations – Paraprofessional Educator Endorsement, you must have ONE of the following qualifications:
    • Official (unopened) transcript showing proof of an associate degree or higher from an accredited institution AND proof of high school diploma or GED transcript.
    OR
    • Official (unopened) transcript showing proof of a minimum of 60 hours of college coursework AND proof of high school diploma or GED transcript.
    OR
    • Proof of passing the ACT Work Keys Assessment AND proof of high school diploma or GED transcript.
    The required paperwork from one of the options listed above must be sent to the Regional Office of Education #21: Regional Office of Education #21 901 Public Square Benton, IL 62812


Renewing a Paraprofessional License

ROE #21 hosts a list of eligible substitute teachers.  This list is available for public and private schools. For information about getting on the list, see the information below. 

New Substitute Teachers

  1. Educator must hold a Professional Educator License (PEL), a Substitute Teaching (SUB) License, a Short-Term Substitute Teaching (STS) License, or an Educator License with Stipulations endorsed as a Teacher’s Aide (PARA).
  2. The license must be registered in ROE #21. (Registration fee paid online through ELIS account).
  3. Educator must complete the Substitute Listing Application form for Substitute Teacher.
  4. Educator must have a Health Exam completed within the past year and a TB test within 90 days of employment.
  5. Educator must completed the Mandated Reporter Form ***attachment***
  6. Once all steps above have been completed, educator must undergo a criminal background investigation. During this investigation, educators will be fingerprinted and names will be checked through the Illinois State Police Murderer and Violent Offender Against Youth Registry and the Child Sex Offender Registry. The fee for the background check is $55.00.
  7. Please call one of our offices for an appointment to schedule your background check.
  8. Please bring all required paperwork with you to your appointment for a Background Check. Once your background check results have been received by our office, you will be mailed a Substitute Authorization Certificate and you will be placed on our Substitute Listing.

Returning Substitute Teachers

​If you have previously been fingerprinted by ROE 21, have a Health Form on file, and were on the previous year’s list for the past school year, you will be rolled over and be placed on the next year’s Substitute Teacher Listing, unless you opt out. 

If you have had a break in service as a Substitute Teacher on our listing and you were removed from the listing at any time, you must reapply as a new substitute teacher by completing all paperwork .

​If you would like to be removed from our Substitute Listing, or you need to update your information, please call one of our ROE #21 offices.

Substitute Listing Application Form

Health Exam

ROE#21 Fee Schedule

Checklist to use when applying for an Illinois Professional Educator License (PEL) as an out of state (OOS) or out of country (OOC) license holder. PEL LICENSE   |  OUT-OF-STATE UNIVERSITIES 
 

If you have questions regarding licensure, please contact one of our offices.