Regional Board of School Trustees

The Regional Board of School Trustees is an elected board comprised of seven members. This elected board hears petitions for annexations, detachments and changes in school boundaries. The Regional Superintendent acts as Ex-Officio Secretary to the Board. The Regional Office maintains all records of petitions heard in the region. The main responsibilities of the Regional Board of School Trustees are:

  1. The hearing and disposal of petitions for change of school district boundaries.
  2. The hearing and disposal of petitions by school districts to withdraw from Joint Agreements/Cooperatives.
  3. The appointment of appraisers and approval of final settlements in the division of assets when new districts are formed.
  4. Meetings are regularly held the first Monday of each quarter; special meetings are scheduled when needed.

Regional Board of School Trustees for Franklin-Johnson-Massac-Williamson Counties are:

MemberCounty of ResidenceTerm ExpiresOffice Held
Shawn TuthillWilliamsonMay 2023President
David GossFranklinMay 2023 
Lou ParkerJohnsonMay 2023 
Marleis TroverJohnsonMay 2025 
Wesley LehmanWilliamsonMay 2021 
Jean ChamnessFranklinMay 2025 

Interested in representing your county on the Regional Board of School Trustees?

To be eligible to serve on the RBST, a person must live in the territory of ROE #21, be qualified to vote in the election for members of the RBST (live in the 22 public school districts overseen by ROE #21). In addition, members cannot serve as a member of a local school board, be a school board employee, or who holds any county office. Details may be found here.

The Regional Board of School Trustees will have two seats up for a four year term in the 2021 election, Massac County and one other eligible seat from Franklin, Johnson, Massac, or Williamson County. Interested candidates should follow the links below or call the Regional Office of Education for more information @ (618) 438-9711.

Candidate packets are available for download here: Trustee Packet

Filing dates are weekdays December 14-21 between 8AM – 5PM. Petitions can be filed in person or mailed (if mailed they cannot receive them before the 14th or after the 21st) to their address at:

Illinois State Board of Elections
2329 S. MacArthur Blvd.
Springfield, IL 62704

Considering filing a petition for Boundary Change?

The power to make decision regarding school district reorganization by accepting or rejecting proposals for school district boundary changes, consolidations, divisions, and dissolution is held by the Regional Board. They are granted this duty in Article 7 of the Illinois School Code, a part of state law that deals with public education issues.

Annexation fees are paid by the petitioner, and a down-payment of $1000 is required. Additional fees incurred will be charged to the petitioner.


Public Meeting Notices

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE of the regular quarterly meetings of the Regional Board of School Trustees of Franklin, Johnson, Massac, and Williamson Counties. All meetings are held at the Williamson County Administration Building 2nd floor board room located at 407 N Monroe St, Marion, IL 62959 at  6:30 P.M.

  • July 6, 2020 (Agenda)
  • October 5, 2020 **CANCELED**
  • January 4, 2021
  • April 5, 2021

Archived Meetings