Office of the Regional Superintendent

The Regional Office of Education #21 is a service organization whose responsibilities are defined by Illinois School Code. The Regional Superintendent serves as the Chief Administrative Officer of the Regional Office, providing essential support to local school districts in partnership with the Illinois State Board of Education.

In addition to coordinating and delivering state and local services, the Regional Superintendent acts as an advocate for education by providing positive leadership and disseminating information for educators, school districts, and the community. The office provides high-quality service and support to all educators, schools, and stakeholders while also helping community members, private schools, parents, children, business leaders, and others. 

Lori LeQuatte

Lorie LeQuatte

Regional Superintendent

Email Lorie LeQuatte

Mandy Horn

Assistant Regional Superintendent

Email Mandy Horn

Mission of ROE #21

To support and strengthen our districts’ students, families, educators, and communities through programs and services that ensure safer schools, well-trained educators, and opportunities for all.

Our Vision

As the educational leadership hub for Southern Illinois, ROE #21 builds the capacity of learners to grow, educators to teach, leaders to lead, and districts to improve.

Strategic Goals

  • Increase awareness of ROE #21 and its programs and services

  • Expand professional learning opportunities and district continuous improvement processes

  • Become a leading voice and advocate for southern Illinois schools

  • Develop systems and processes for evaluating programs and services

Flag Icon
School Districts
School Icon
Public School Buildings
School Icon
Private School Buildings
Map Icon
Total Square Miles
Students Icon
Number of Students
Teacher Icon
Number of Teachers

Population by County

  • Franklin County


  • Johnson County


  • Massac County


  • Williamson County


  • Total Population


Enrollment by County

  • Franklin County


  • Johnson County


  • Massac County


  • Williamson County